My two Dads

So as if my family was not dysfunctional enough….

When I was about 10 (damn, that was a hell of a year!) my Mom developed a relationship with my Dad’s friend, Thomas Wayne Gurley.  They became lovers and my Dad found out.  But instead of getting mad or filing for a divorce like normal people, my Dad asked him to move in.  Yep, that’s right, MOVE IN!  I really am not sure but if memory serves me correctly my Dad worked the midnight shift and Wayne would sleep with my Mom while my Dad was at work.  If my Dad was off work, Wayne (as we called him) would sleep on the couch.

This arrangement, for obvious reasons, did not last long before all hell broke loose.   We moved out, leaving Dad, but before long we were back at home – less Wayne Gurley.  Mom carried on a relationship with Wayne for years.  Right up until before she died.  She left Dad 3 or 4 times over the next several years to be with Wayne.

And of course with the addition of Wayne in our lives -more secrets.  More lies.  More More More… insanity!  Oh the stories I could tell.  But that will have to wait for another day.

Leave a Reply

