Indecency with a child?

Soon after Bobby and I got married, my sister (a brave little soul) filed charges against my Dad.  I will never forget being called into the DA’s office in Montgomery County.  I sat across a desk of a man I had never met as he questioned me about my Dad.  Intimate questions.  I bit my nails until they bled.  I thought my heart would stop right then and right there.  Everything that I had been through was being exposed by a stranger.

I will have to say he was very nice.  But still, it was like a dream.  Well, more like a nightmare.  Isn’t it strange that after everything I had been through this was a nightmare?  You would think I would be so relieved.  But instead I was afraid.  Afraid of no longer having a Dad.  Afraid of no longer having a brother and a sister.  All I heard was “Your brother and  sister will go into the custody of the state.”  “Your Dad will probably go to jail.”  No sister, no brother, no Dad… and certainly no Mom (she was already dead).

Despite those words I told the truth.  I had to.  I had to pick… him or my sweet little sister.  How could I choose him over her?  I couldn’t, but I can tell you now for a moment I had to consider it.  But it took me less than a second.  I choose her!  Not only because she was telling the truth but she is my sister!

I asked him “Where did she find the courage to tell?”  “And I am so glad someone finally believed it!”  When he asked me what I meant, I told him I had told.  I told when my Mom died and no one did anything!  No one cared enough about us to do shit! <- my exact words.

He said he was sorry that had happened but now someone was going to do shit! <- his exact words!

My Dad had a good attorney, Nelda Luce, and plead guilty to one count of indecency with a child in order to avoid a trial and possible jail time.

He received ten years probation.  He was never required to register as a sex offender.  And of that ten years he did about 6.

2 Comments to “Indecency with a child?”

  1. I don’t understand this at all…

    “He received ten years probation. He was never required to register as a sex offender. And of that ten years he did about 6.”

    I am infuriated reading this. WHY??? Guess that is what a good attorney will do for you.

    Keep writing Veronica, you are a brilliant writer and story teller. You should write a book about this. Big Hugs.

  2. The Justice system lets us down so many times.

Leave a Reply

