Steve

Not long after returning to work I met Steve in the Wal-Mart parking lot in Huntsville, TX.  Steve was the single father of two boys.  One of his sons, Bobby, was obviously not his.  He was mulatto and Steve was Caucasian and so was his ex-wife.  But to Steve he was his son.  And it was amazing to see.  His other son, Mikey, was a cute little blond angel. Steve was an awesome Dad.

Just like every other guy, after two weeks of “dating”, I lost interest. But he and I stayed friends.   Jake, Bobby and Mikey became the best of friends.  We had play dates a lot.  I would pick Bobby and Mikey up from day care and we would all go to McDonald’s or the park or to the movies.  I would see them sometimes 5 or 6 days a week.  Including Steve.  I would cook dinner for all of us.  We would watch movies with the kids.  It was so… comfortable!

I was still a serial dater… but it never seemed to bother Steve.  I thought we were just great friends!  Or maybe that is just what I wanted to believe.

About 6 or 8 months after I met Steve….  I started dating Kevin.  He hated Kevin, he said it was because of who he was, what he was and where it might lead.

Concerned friend?  Maybe.  Normal?  Maybe not.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

