After the reunion, what I always wanted to be

As I posted in this blog: https://nomorevictim.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/the-family-reunion/ I found that I had become very strong.  I could stand up for myself, I could face challenges, and I could walk away from a situation without feeling defeated.

This was a defining moment in my life. My life became clearer – sharper, and so did I!

Within a year, I decided to go to college. And soon I will be graduating with my AA and transferring to Sam Houston State to get my BA in Education! I currently have a 4.0! I am the student I always wanted to be.

I may have never asked my Dad those 8 questions, but what I did do was become the daughter I always wanted to be even though my Dad would never be the Dad I had always wanted.

I am the wife I always wanted to be. After that fateful day, I no longer leaned on my husband for emotional support. I discovered I could take care of myself. This new sense of self helped me to be the wife I always wanted to be. No jealousy, no anger, and no fear of abandonment.

Today, I am what I always wanted to be, but never imagined that I could be.

Happy!

But I will admit, it takes work and dedication to be happy. Is it worth it? Hell yes it is!

3 Comments to “After the reunion, what I always wanted to be”

  1. Love that you are a survivor who has moved on… you put the victim behind you. You now with diligence and perseverance can achieve your goals and dreams. I applaud you. Keep up the great work. Say hello to your husband for me and remember him as he has stood by your side and helped you through the hard times and thank him everyday if you remember. Blessings, Mark

  2. Hi, I’ve just been catching up on all your posts for the past while. I am amazed at what you wrote here. You have recovered from something many people never recover from. You are the wife and daughter you always wanted to be. And I love this statement, “Today, I am what I always wanted to be, but never imagined that I could be.Happy!” That is something to be proud of. Congratulations on becoming the person you want to be.

Leave a Reply

