Labels

I have been thinking about all of the labels;

Labels I gave myself: damaged, broken, unlovable, easily abandoned, fat…

Labels someone else gave me: depressed, manic depressive, bipolar, histrionic, major depressive…

I am not any of those things. Was I ever? Who cares!

I have no labels, I removed them because they did not belong! They were confining and I attempted to conform to them. Once removed I was free! I am free! Free to be happy. Free to be OK! Free to be ME!

Do you want to know how to remove yours? There is no secret to it. No Goo-gone needed. Just never again say “I am bipolar, depressed, a victim …”

Replace them with true descriptions: hungry, tired, excited, human…

Labels are for boxes and you certainly are not a box!

3 Comments to “Labels”

  1. Love this post. Still read everything you post. 🙂

  2. I think it’s good to name a problem or what’s bothering you, to describe. But, yes, even such a thing does not define a person. I call myself a “survivor”. It is actually a label, but one that I own. I’m a little proud of it~beats being a victim. For now I am defined as a survivor. It is who I am~I still view everything through the tints of my issues and abuse. But I know I won’t always be like this. One day I will be healed.

    I don’t think a diagnosis is a label. I have a brother with Asperger’s. He is high-functioning autistic. I don’t consider it labeling him to say he is autistic or has autism or is a person with autism. He wasn’t diagnosed until he was nearly an adolescent, when my parents finally took him out of homeschooling and put him in public school. We always knew he was a little odd, but once he was diagnosed it all made perfect sense to us. It was important to have that diagnosis, because now he is getting the support he needs, especially for his education.

    A friend of mine is diagnosed bipolar but she doesn’t take medication for it. She isn’t denying that she is bipolar, she says she can handle it on her own. I have seen that she does. Others I know who are bipolar do take their medications and it helps them (aside from side effects). One has such radical changes that he can’t not be medicated.

    People *can* use diagnoses to label others. But I don’t think it’s a bad thing to own a label, either.

Leave a Reply

